CoEU: Council of the European Union

The 28 member states constituting the Council of the European Union (CoEU) serve as one half of the legislative arm of the European Union (EU). The original members of the EU were Germany, France, Italy, Netherlands, Luxembourg, and Belgium. In 1960s, the European Communities were very successful in their efforts of economic growth, and this set the stage for their first expansion, adding the United Kingdom, Ireland, and Denmark in 1973, and eventually to the 28 member states we see today. All actions that the EU takes are founded on voluntary and democratic treaties. The EU’s mission is “to guarantee peace, freedom, and security in and around Europe,” to promote democracy, to strengthen and stabilize Europe’s economy, to make Europe as a whole a livable continent for all citizens, to promote equality, to facilitate communication between European nations, to protect the environment, to manage the impacts of globalization, to ensure Europe’s voice is heard, and to engage with its citizens.11 The EU is unique in its mandate in that it has the authority to formulate laws that bind member states, as opposed to simply making suggestions. These laws must follow the foreign policy and beliefs of its member states and earn their approval before it can be approved as a law. The Council of the European Union works in unison with the European Parliament to pass EU legislation.

Committee Topics: Coming June 2019!